SAFEST Chapter 4


Misunderstanding

When he mentioned Horita’s name, I couldn’t help but imagine Horita’s stupid confused face. I tried to stifle a laugh, but it came out as a weird grunt. Feeling the weight of my actions, I inadvertently began to cry. 

“Hey, don’t cry. It must’ve been hard, bottling up all those emotions.”

The tone of his voice was sympathetic; I knew that my strategy had worked. 

However, Kasukabe now thought that I had a crush on Horita. Should I tell him the truth? I couldn’t decide one way or the other, so I decided to see how things went and go with the flow. 

The rustling of clothes snapped me back to attention. Was he putting on his clothes? It looked like he was about to head home. There were no trains at this hour, but there was an internet cafe near the station. 

I was about to ask if he was going home, but Kasukabe had already finished getting dressed and was sitting cross-legged on the bed. He looked me in the eyes, scratching his head. He always did that when he was about to say something uncomfortable.

“I don’t think… there’s anything wrong with you,” he started.

“Mm.”

“But I’m afraid I can’t help you.”

“Mm.”

That was annoying. 

“Horita and I have been friends since middle school, and, umm, how do I say this… he’s a close friend? A really good guy. There was one time where another one of my friend’s girlfriend started flirting with me, and we got pretty heated about it. Back then, only Horita trusted me. He said something like, you’re a dirty playboy, but I know you wouldn’t sleep with another guy’s girl.

“I see.”

Apart from Horita and I, Kasukabe doesn’t really have any good friends. He has a few close acquaintances, but he always keeps his distance. 

“Horita is always thirsting after women, but he’s actually pure at heart.”

“Mmm.”

“He wants to meet a girl, wait until marriage and start a family. That’s his dream… So, unfortunately, I really can’t help you with that. I suggest you give up on him.”

“Got it.”

Kasukabe looked at me and sighed a sigh of relief.

“Of course, you’re also a really good friend, and I’d help you with anything else. Yeah?”

“Yeah. Thanks.”

Kasukabe is a full-on playboy when it comes to girls, but he’s kind to his friends. Now I felt bad about lying. I decided to stop pursuing him. I no longer wanted to do him, and vowed to continue our relationship as just friends.

Until, a few days later, something happened that would challenge my decision.

Like always, the three of us met up in the school cafeteria for lunch. Instead, this time Kasukabe hadn’t ordered anything (he normally gets the cheapest thing on the menu; curry rice) and was holding his head in his hands. Horita explained the situation to me. 

His front door had been glued shut by someone. He didn’t know who the culprit was, but Horita thinks it was the girl who was mad at Kasukabe a few days earlier. Kasukabe also thought it was her, but he was unnecessarily kind and didn’t report the incident to the police. He told the landlord that he had gotten drunk and mistakenly did it himself. He had to change his keys, but he couldn’t call the supplier without making a big scene. 

As a result, he got kicked out of his apartment.

Even the timing was bad. He was about to renew his contract. There had been several complaints, even from the stalker girl, and he wasn’t able to renew his contract. 

“So he just doesn’t know what to do now. He’s tried searching for available rooms, but there are no rooms at this time of year (April) that are cheap and close to the university,” Horita explained.

His parents’ house was too far away from the university, and if he were to live with a girl, he’d have to switch girls every day, according to his “no sleeping twice with the same girl” rule. On top of that, it’d be rare to find a woman who wouldn’t mind him living with her for free anyway.

At the moment, staying with me  would probably be the best course of action, but after what happened last time, I doubt he’d say yes. Besides, it would be unbearable if I messed up again.

But Horita, not knowing the events that went down a few days prior, suggested that I invite him to stay at my place.

“No thank you,” Kasukabe said.

“Why? We should help each other out in times like this. Machiya, you have a spare room and all, right?”

“I don’t mind,” I replied.

“Look, Machiya says it’s fine.”

“I don’t want to.”

“What do you mean? Don’t turn down his good offer.”

“That’s not what I mean.”

“Then what do you mean?”

“Well, first of all, I hit it up with a girl and I’m going to stay at hers, so it’s fine.”

“You never learn, do you? Even though a girl practically chased you out of your apartment, you’re still at it?”

“I gotta do what I gotta do.”

I observed their conversation quietly. If I were to live with Kasukabe again, I didn’t trust myself not to make a move again, so I didn’t say anything. 

Then, the conversation took an unexpected turn. 

“So, Kasukabe, stay at my place,” Horita suggested.

“Dude, your room is like, there’s barely enough space to stand. Where would I sleep? I don’t wanna share a futon with you.

“No, you’ll live by yourself.”

“So you’re living with your parents? That’s pretty far. Your parents live pretty close to mine.”

“Then I’ll crash at Machiya’s place. I, for one, want to live in that big apartment. That’s fine with you, right? Machiya.”

Kasukabe’s face suddenly drained of all colour. “Sure,” I replied. “Although I don’t have a spare futon, so we’ll have to sleep together, ok?” I said jokingly, placing a hand on Horita’s shoulder.

“But you know, what will you do if I snore?”

“What will you do if I mistake you for a body pillow?”

“I’d hug you right back, haha.”

“Hahaha.”

“What are you guys saying?!” Kasukabe said, interrupting our joking conversation. Kasukabe’s voice had made everyone around us go quiet. Horita shot a perplexed look at him. 

“Why are you being so loud? We were just joking around.”

Kasukabe glanced at me and made an awkward face.

“Ahh… I-I uhh… sorry about that. Looks like I’ll stay at Machiya’s place after all. Is that alright?”

“Of course,” I replied with a smile. 

Edited by Whistle


oh my god i did not see that coming at all!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! who would have thought!!!!!!!!!!111!!!1!!1!1!!1!! shocking@@@!!!!!!!111!!!1!!1!!!!1!!!


RealEx

My Japanese isn’t perfect but I try my best. My biggest kink is hand holding.



One thought on “SAFEST Chapter 4

  1. Thank you for translating!
    Also, the sfw version was hilarious.

    I normally hate misunderstandings, but I’m looking forward to see how this turns out!

    Liked by 2 people

Leave a comment